A true and funny story about Island living.

Willy Or Won't He

Island Distance

When we first visited the Island we heard people refer to “Island distance” or terms to that effect. And on our first trip outside Charlottetown I noticed that often none of the road signs indicated how many kilometres it was to the place we were heading, just the direction. And it seemed that when most people were asked they would say that such-and-such a place was about 40 minutes away. Now we know that isn’t quite true, many things are an hour or more away but we find we are now using 40 minutes as almost a standard. Suffice is to say that distances are compressed and as my friend Don says “It’s all a matter of scale.” And you begin to adapt to “Island distance” as a norm.

A few weeks ago I realized that I had adapted more than I thought. Our friend Cathy was visiting…

View original post 444 more words

