I love to read about wines and how they are made, the regions they come from and which wines are the new discovery. Wine pairing with food is interesting to me, what is best with what, as they say life is too short to drink bad wine.

Years ago, some medical researchers said that Red wine was good for you and helped reduce risk of heart attacks. So everybody started to drink red wine, some people drank exclusively red wine with everything. We now know that this theory is bunk, apparently wine in moderation, white, red or rosé is good for you. My mother would say champagne is best.

I also heard that sugar is wine is high and thus a glass of wine was high in calories. I was never sure if people meant wine or liquor, because liquor can be very high in sugar content.

unnamed.png

The sweetness in wine comes from the natural sugars found in grapes and “dry” wines can contain up to 10 grams of sugar per bottle.

Since I do not like sweet wines and prefer dry white, then my glass of wine would have few calories. I will drink Rosé in the Summer heat but again a dry Rosé. But many people like sweet wines, so they are right to think that they are drinking a lot of calories.

In practice, different people have different thresholds for tasting sweetness in wine, so what you consider dry another person might taste as sweet. In general, some whites wines are almost always made in a dry style: Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Grigio, Gris or Blanc, Spanish Albariños and Austrian Grüner Veltliners, Chardonnay,  Viognier, for example.

As for the Red wines, I prefer to drink wines with an alcohol content of no more than 14%. The big reds at 15% or 16%, I cannot drink, I get a headache right away. I always chill my red wines for about 15 minutes in the fridge. because the old rule of room temperature does not mean literally that, if the room you are in is at 20 C. it is too warm. Your red wine should be at 18C or a little less. Where a Rosé or a White can be chilled to 8C to 10C.

A Rosé I like and can find here on PEI is Chateau Routas, I wish I could find a greater selection. One wine I really like but is difficult to find here is a dry Lambrusco not to be confused with the sweet Lambrusco which is completely different.  A dry Lambrusco goes very well with a beef hamburger on the grill, a green salad or just like that to sip on a beautiful Summer day.

The majority of Lambrusco production occurs in Emilia-Romagna, a region in Italy that is home to many famous delicacies. Balsamic vinegar from Modena, Prosciutto, and Parmesan-Reggiano cheese are all specialities of Emilia-Romagna. It so happens that a dry or off-dry Lambrusco wine with firm acidity is the perfect match to these locally made treasures. Try serving a Lambrusco alongside your next charcuterie and cheese spread.

As for Champagne, unfortunately the price of a good bottle nowadays in Canada is so expensive that most people no longer drink it. However we were fortunate to live in Italy and found that Italians drink Prosecco, though not made in the Champagne region of France, it is in Italy the drink of all occasions. I try to find Prosecco DOC which is the three letters indicating top quality. It is very good offered well chilled before a meal as an apéritif or with a dessert. A bottle of Prosecco is no more expensive than a good bottle of wine.

6720062057_dfa0bd7974.jpg

 

 

images-1.jpeg

 

 

 

 

 

 

